Introductions - let's greet each other!

If you’re new here, welcome! We’re so glad you have come to the ELP community. Please introduce yourself in this thread, so we can all get to know each other a bit more! You can share things like:

• Your name
  • Where you’re from
  • What language(s) you speak, are learning, identify with, or work with
  • What kind of language work you do, or are interested in
  • Anything else you would like to share!
1 Like

Hello, Hola, Mari Mari! My name is Daniela and I am originally from Mexico, but I live in Calgary on Treaty 7 territory, the traditional lands of the Blackfoot Confederacy of the Piikani, Kainai and Siksika Nations, The Tsuu t’ina Nation, and the Métis nation of Alberta region 3.

I speak English, Spanish, and I’m a beginner in Mapudungun, which is the Indigenous language of Chile and Argentina spoken by the Mapuche peoples. I am also learning to speak Nahuatl, the Indigenous language of Mexico in the area where I was born, and I am also hoping to learn a little bit of Blackfoot for my current job at Heritage Park Historical Village here in Calgary because I get to work with a number of Indigenous people within the park! I identify with both English and Spanish, and I was able to reclaim my fluency in Spanish about 10 years ago.